Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Old 02-18-2015, 02:23 PM   #1
BennyLava

Drives: 1987 Silverado
tune up time. which components

Well I'm assuming it's tune up time, at least. The car has 120k miles on it, and this will be its first tune up. Anyone know the exact mileage you're supposed to do it?

Also the spark plugs are iridium from the factory. But i would like to try out those e3 plugs. Is there any reason i shouldn't?

As for the O2 sensor, I'm not sure what to go with.

Got a wix air filter.

Fuel filter and plug wires I don't know about. I'd prefer Toyota quality. Any recommendations?
BennyLava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 03:07 PM   #2
matti

Drives: 2017 Yaris L (5sp manual)
What model year do you have?

I'm far from an auto expert, but isn't the idea of a "tune-up" a thing of the past? I think you just should follow the maintenance schedule in your owner's manual? Of course, if you have problems with certain components, those should be addressed.

I'm sure others with more experience will chime in. (I'm also curious about what others think, too.)
matti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 06:34 PM   #3
nookandcrannycar

Drives: 2('14+'07)MT 3d ,wHandCrWndws!
Location: S.MontgomeryCnty,TX(HoustonMSA) '07=BayouBlue=300,125miles=OrigOwnr '14=ClassicSilvr=29,059miles
Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyLava View Post
Well I'm assuming it's tune up time, at least. The car has 120k miles on it, and this will be its first tune up. Anyone know the exact mileage you're supposed to do it?

Also the spark plugs are iridium from the factory. But i would like to try out those e3 plugs. Is there any reason i shouldn't?

Got a wix air filter.

Fuel filter and plug wires I don't know about. I'd prefer Toyota quality. Any recommendations?