Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > New YARIS Purchase Forum
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2016, 05:00 AM   #1
JMJahn
 
JMJahn's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris T2 Style 2016
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 16
Gear Ratio 2016 Yaris

I took delivery of my new Yaris about a week ago.

1.3 Dual VVT-i 6 speed manual (99HP) 16"alloys
Style is similar to the SE

My question here, before I ask the dealer (or if I ask him) is
can the gear ratio be set UP by software or is it always a mechanical job ?

Highway speeds in Denmark are 70-80Mph
Two lane roads are 50-55Mph
Maybe it's just a matter of ,You bought a small car with a small engine boy, get used to it ?

As you can see I'm not a car mechanic :-)

The reason I ask is that I am used to diving a RAV4 from 2007 and
it bothers me that in 6th gear the Yaris still seems to be *powering* not
cruising. The RPM is about 1900-2000. It just gives me the *feeling* there
must be another gear. Just feels like the engine is still revving too much.

Haven't taken a photo of the car yet but here is the model from Toyota site
Same color as mine
Attached Images
 

Last edited by JMJahn; 10-07-2016 at 05:19 AM.
JMJahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 05:30 AM   #2
NYC-SE
 
NYC-SE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Yaris SE
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,056
Gear ratios are mechanically set at time of manufacture. If you want to change you would have to disassemble the transmission to do so, assuming you could find gears that would work. In other words it is what it is, get used to it.
NYC-SE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 06:47 AM   #3
JMJahn
 
JMJahn's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris T2 Style 2016
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 16
Thanks,
OK I'm sure in a couple of months I'll not notice it.
I have owned small engined cars in the past (polo)
Just got spoiled with the RAV4.
JMJahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 06:03 PM   #4
sickpuppy1
 
Drives: 2010 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 871
Has to do with the size of the engine. In the States we have the 1.5 liter engine and it doesnt have the low end torque to hold speed on any type of hill or incline so they let it rev a bit so its in the power band a bit more. I think they must control fuel flow pretty well at speed to get the economy, Mine does about 3000 rpm at 75 mph, and yeah,it sounds busy,lol
__________________
sickpuppy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 07:48 PM   #5
Bluevitz-rs
1NZ-6spd
 
Bluevitz-rs's Avatar
 
Drives: '05 6-Spd Vitz RS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,958
Mine does 3000 at 60 MPH.
Bluevitz-rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 08:12 AM   #6
JMJahn
 
JMJahn's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris T2 Style 2016
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 16
Busy little engines.
2000RPM at 55-70mph in 6th doesn't seem bad from what you guys post.
I'll not ask the dealer, just get used to it.

Thanks.
JMJahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2016, 04:29 PM   #7
SirDigby
 
Drives: 2007 yaris 3 door
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 998
isn't the 6 speed a closed gear ratio box? you could swap it out for a 5 speed. you can also go custom gear box for about 5-6000 USD from borg/warner. they will build you whatever gear ratio/final drive you want. I have a buddy that had one built for his 03 VW TDI. it would do 50mph in first gear! at 75mph in 5th it was rumbling at a little over 1700 rpm. (the engine was built at a little over 280hp and like 400ft.lbs) I bet he could hit 180mph before the transmission topped out...
SirDigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2016, 05:18 AM   #8
SCaRa
 
Drives: 15 Yaris 1.33 vvt-i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 12
I run between 2500 and 3000 rpm at speeds between 120 and 130 kph.
Same engine as yours.

I don't think the engine has margin for another gear. 6th has been added for cruising on the highway. I have to downshift one or two gears on steep inclines (was confronted with this in the Alps :) ).

It's just a small engine without turbo's. (But it is eager enough ;) )
SCaRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 12:28 AM   #9
CincyC6
 
Drives: 2008 / 2011 / 2012 Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 108
My '11 is at 3000rpm @ 70mph.
CincyC6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 Yaris won't shift out of first gear Christine88 DIY / Maintenance / Service 14 11-18-2017 10:45 AM
Quick ratio steering yaris 06-11 froger Performance Modifications 4 09-14-2016 12:01 PM
Yaris Gearbox gear change problem? slnko2003 General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 1 08-20-2012 02:26 PM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 09:53 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.