Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Forced Induction Forum
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2007, 10:54 AM   #1
redduck
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 136
build up for a turbo

What do I need to buy in anticipation of a turbo kit farther down the line?

Do I need an exhaust, headers, air intake,pulleys, etc. what all do I need to buy to get the most out of a turbo. FYI I plan on buy the ZPI kit.
redduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 11:24 AM   #2
Turbo&Auto
 
Turbo&Auto's Avatar
 
Drives: 07
Join Date: May 2007
Location: home
Posts: 236
If you're buying a kit you shouldnt need anything else.

Intake and headers are worthless when you turbo. I suggest you do some research on how it works, its pretty obvious you're a turbo noob. Not knockin you but it is what it is. Turbo can easily kill your car when you have no clue, I really cant stress research enough!!!
Turbo&Auto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 11:41 AM   #3
redduck
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 136
... I thought research is what I was doing? I figured I would get some good advice here

You can call me a noob no offense taken everyone had to start somewhere
redduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 11:59 AM   #4
whooppee777
I used to have 1700 posts
 
whooppee777's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris Hatch
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 808
Send a message via AIM to whooppee777
typically when you turbo a car the placement of things will change a lot to make room for all the extra piping, turbo and intercooler. so buying headers, exhuast, or an intake would be kinda pointless, because they most likely wont fit with all the other turbo components. most turbo kits come with headers, intake, etc. i plan on turboing mine somewhere down the line. that isnt stopping me from buying headers, exhuast, and intake now though because i want my engine bay to look good. only difference is when i get the turbo i'll just have a lot of useless parts. so i'll just buy another yaris
whooppee777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 12:19 PM   #5
Turbo&Auto
 
Turbo&Auto's Avatar
 
Drives: 07
Join Date: May 2007
Location: home
Posts: 236
^You need some research too mang......You dont get headers cause they wont fit in the engine bay with a turbo, you dont get them because you need a turbo manifold to connect the turbo to the exhaust......turbo manifold replaces your OEM or aftermarket header. AND headers will NOT make your engine bay look good, the wiper motor assembly covers half the motor.....

Redduck: You're asking a VERY vague question. You need to read some just turbo basic articles then come and ask specific questions. I could write 10-20 pages on how to turbo or what you should do.....You see what I'm saying??? PLUS it really is best to read as much as possible from different sources. Everyone will tell you something slightly different, it happens all the time. I find I have the best luck when I read a lot from a lot of different people and then make the best decision based on a lil of each.


Not to mention, there is a lot of choices to make. Response or top end power? OR just the best of both worlds....These are decided with your turbo sizing. That alone is a HUGE decision!!!!

The biggest thing once you have a setup you feel will work well is the tuning. If you havent done it yourself ever, take it to a reputabe shop and have the car dialed in. It will help your response, MPG's, Power/TQ etc.....
Turbo&Auto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 12:26 PM   #6
WRBlue
 
Drives: Yaris 3 Door, 04 WRX, 69 Lotus
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: norcal
Posts: 128
The real reason an intake and header would be pointless is because with a turbo, the exhaust gasses and intake are re-routed.

Instead of the throttle body, the intake goes into the compressor housing. A new exhaust manifold is needed to attach to the exhaust housing. A new downpipe is needed to attach from the exhaust housing to the cat.

To buy for a future turbo build:

Low compression pistons
Rods
computer
clutch
Probally stronger axles
cams

Ofcourse any of that except the clutch will make you car slower N/A
WRBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 03:33 PM   #7
mandriu
11b1p
 
mandriu's Avatar
 
Drives: yaris s
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nashville
Posts: 44
Has anybody thought about trying a scion tc turbo header and a t3/t4 turbine? I do realize the engines are different. I saw the header pretty cheap on ebay, but don't know if it will fit under the firewall with the trubine.
mandriu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 08:59 PM   #8
joey1320
 
joey1320's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandriu View Post
Has anybody thought about trying a scion tc turbo header and a t3/t4 turbine? I do realize the engines are different. I saw the header pretty cheap on ebay, but don't know if it will fit under the firewall with the trubine.

the fact that engines are different will make it pointless to get. you will need a specific manifold for the engine you have. i'm putting a turbo together for my lb so i'll try to take pics as i go along.
joey1320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 07:32 AM   #9
Turbo&Auto
 
Turbo&Auto's Avatar
 
Drives: 07
Join Date: May 2007
Location: home
Posts: 236
WOW.......
Turbo&Auto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 03:08 AM   #10
armature
 
Drives: yaris lb
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: california
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRBlue View Post
The real reason an intake and header would be pointless is because with a turbo, the exhaust gasses and intake are re-routed.

Instead of the throttle body, the intake goes into the compressor housing. A new exhaust manifold is needed to attach to the exhaust housing. A new downpipe is needed to attach from the exhaust housing to the cat.

To buy for a future turbo build:

Low compression pistons
Rods
computer
clutch
Probally stronger axles
cams

Ofcourse any of that except the clutch will make you car slower N/A
aside from the items in this list, i would add LSD, and gauges (oil temp, oil pressure, air/fuel ratio, boost gauge [useless until you're boosting but it's easier to do all the gauges at once]). also might want to upgrade the front brakes and wheels/tires. most important part about being faster is the ability to stop.
armature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 03:13 PM   #11
Sabretooth
37HSSV
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 Mazdaspeed 3
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St Cloud FL
Posts: 1,395
Send a message via AIM to Sabretooth
Yea, the car is made for stop/go city traffic, not really built to hit 100mph as fast as it can, then stop on a dime.
__________________
07 Toyota Yaris Hatchback -sold-
11 Mazdaspeed 3 -SRI/TIP, 3 inch TBI, Custom FMIC, Tuned by Cobb Accessport, HKS ssq2 BOV, Upgraded HPFP-
Clean stock look... Killer performance.
Sabretooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 06:33 AM   #12
blueskana
 
blueskana's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris LB
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 206
Does anyone make an LSD for the Yaris yet?
blueskana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 06:49 AM   #13
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,744
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueskana View Post
Does anyone make an LSD for the Yaris yet?
TRD has one, and apparently Kaaz's one for the Corolla fits perfectly too.
__________________
The price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a good deal of rubbish.
- Robert Jackson


Bye bye 1NZ...
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 07:31 AM   #14
blueskana
 
blueskana's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris LB
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 206
I had heard about the KAAZ being put in the Tein (I think) Yaris, but I didn't realize it was a no-hassle fit. I couldn't find one on TRD's site, but I probably just missed it. Thanks.
blueskana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 11:32 AM   #15
Doc Zaius
Lurker supreme!
 
Doc Zaius's Avatar
 
Drives: old and boosted!
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 792
TRD LSD.
__________________
2006 Red Blitzed RS 5-door
Doc Zaius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 10:31 PM   #16
majicmeow
I am the Stig
 
majicmeow's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris RS Hatch
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 6
Send a message via MSN to majicmeow
oooh... TRD LSD

I am correct in assuming that for all the part#'s listed are for M/T's only? hmmmm.. what are the chances it fits the 4spd Auto too?
__________________
"Technology is the only substitute for cubic inches"
Your friendly neighborhood BMW technician!

RCTS Canada - Your Toyota Tuning Specialists!
www.rctscanada.com
----
1983 MA67 Supra - 1830000original km
2007 YARiS RS HB - 450km!
majicmeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TURBO DIY... forpinks Forced Induction Forum 33 09-06-2007 03:03 AM
ZPI to produce yaris turbo kit and exhaust turboyaris Forced Induction Forum 15 06-09-2007 02:24 AM
ZPI to produce yaris turbo kit and exhaust turboyaris Forced Induction Forum 30 04-04-2007 03:10 PM
NCP 91 RS 1500 TRD Turbo ????? ramishrrr General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 3 01-15-2007 05:51 PM
Vitz Rs turbo vs U.S. Yaris add turbo? weaponrcamry Performance Modifications 18 08-09-2006 09:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:27 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.