Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2021, 12:20 PM   #1
teddy
 
Drives: 2008 5-door hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to teddy
High beam indicator stopped working

I noticed the other day I was driving with my high beams on, turns out the blue indicator in the dash isn't lighting up anymore. Is this simple enough to replace? What part would I need to buy?

The garage I take my car into replaced my headlight bulbs with LEDs a few months back. I had a blown bulb and they asked if I'd like to swap them out for LED, so I figured why not. I'm not sure if this would contribute to it. I'm about 95% sure the high beam indicator was working since.
teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 03:06 PM   #2
mitch9521
Gen 3 > Gen 2
 
mitch9521's Avatar
 
Drives: NCP131, F-150
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Brantford, Ontario
Posts: 348
As far as I know all of the indicator lights on the cluster are LED. I doubt the LED blew but you can pull the cluster out and check the circuit board on the back of it.
__________________
2014 NCP131 5 Speed
2007 F150 4.2L 5 Speed

mitch9521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2022, 08:13 PM   #3
TommyWasabi
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Alabama
Posts: 33
Did you ever figure this out? I replaced my headlights with LED's as well and I'm experiencing the same problem.
TommyWasabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2022, 09:25 AM   #4
teddy
 
Drives: 2008 5-door hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to teddy
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyWasabi View Post
Did you ever figure this out? I replaced my headlights with LED's as well and I'm experiencing the same problem.
Unfortunately no. I ultimately went back to the original non-LED bulbs. The LED lights had flicker in the DRL and were way too bright. Once I was back on the old bulbs the indicator worked again.
teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2022, 10:36 AM   #5
TommyWasabi
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Alabama
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy View Post
Unfortunately no. I ultimately went back to the original non-LED bulbs. The LED lights had flicker in the DRL and were way too bright. Once I was back on the old bulbs the indicator worked again.
I did some digging on the interwebs last night and it looks like most with this problem added a resistor in line and it fixed the problem. Apparently the LED's can cause some tricky problems. Anyway, I found a solution that essentially is a plug in. Just in case you ever want to go back to LED's in the future.

There are various ways to do this but this will work as a plug and play solution:
https://www.superbrightleds.com/moto...-load-resistor
TommyWasabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2022, 11:29 AM   #6
teddy
 
Drives: 2008 5-door hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to teddy
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyWasabi View Post
I did some digging on the interwebs last night and it looks like most with this problem added a resistor in line and it fixed the problem. Apparently the LED's can cause some tricky problems. Anyway, I found a solution that essentially is a plug in. Just in case you ever want to go back to LED's in the future.

There are various ways to do this but this will work as a plug and play solution:
https://www.superbrightleds.com/moto...-load-resistor

Huh, that looks simple enough. I wouldn't go back to LEDs - the housing isn't designed for them so at night I was blinding oncoming traffic.



I'm waiting for my Corolla Hybrid to come in, so will be saying good bye to Yaris after almost 15 years :)
teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2022, 05:18 PM   #7
sh0rtlife
 
Drives: 2007 5dr canadian import
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: pacific north WET
Posts: 454
you dont even need a real resistor just 2 tiny 12v to 3v resistors paired up run from the LOW to ground on the bulb socket...its how i fixed my HID's and its been since dec with no issues

to be clear im talking aboutthe same resistors you get in a bulk pack of LED's

i belive what i used was a pair of 1ohm

sh0rtlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2022, 05:50 PM   #8
TommyWasabi
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Alabama
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by sh0rtlife View Post
you dont even need a real resistor just 2 tiny 12v to 3v resistors paired up run from the LOW to ground on the bulb socket...its how i fixed my HID's and its been since dec with no issues

to be clear im talking aboutthe same resistors you get in a bulk pack of LED's

i belive what i used was a pair of 1ohm

Good stuff, I know I have a few resistors some where...
TommyWasabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yaris Verso High beam problem henry33 DIY / Maintenance / Service 1 09-21-2016 10:31 PM
rear axle beam compatitbility? AndreS123 Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 3 08-25-2016 05:23 PM
Front wipers high speed not working properly WildChild DIY / Maintenance / Service 1 07-30-2016 02:00 PM
Dimmed high beam as DRL? Ot_tO Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 5 08-21-2012 01:34 AM
DIY - HID Retrofit Violin DIY / Maintenance / Service 57 06-11-2007 07:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:21 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.