Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2006, 01:38 AM   #1
AlexK
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Sedan 5MT
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sparks, NV, USA
Posts: 29
Rostra Cruise Control install done on MT

I bought this cruise control on ebay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...RK%3AMEWN%3AIT



It came today and I installed it tonight. It only took about 1.5 hours start to finish. I saw a review somewhere else that said it was difficult to do. Maybe on the auto it is but the manual transmission was pretty easy.

I took it on a road test and it works perfectly, in fact I've never seen a cruise control maintain speed so accurately, must be the throttle by wire.

I'm very happy with it. Now when my girlfriend wants some luvin (she lives 80 miles away) I have no excuses.
AlexK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2006, 03:58 PM   #2
SimmZ
 
Drives: 2k3 Cavalier & 2k2 Echo
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Quebec
Posts: 260
Appear to be a great kit, but it's not interesting for Canada buyers because the price is too near of the dealer price. In Canada the dealer price is 400$ CDN installed.

Your kit is 235$ USD, add around 25$ USD to ship to Canada, then add brokerage and taxs, then add funds exchange rate... hummm... and take a chance to install it by your self... to save less than 100$. hehehe
__________________
2003 Chevy Cavalier Ecotec - His car!
2002 Toyota Echo Sedan - Her car... FOR SALE!
SimmZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 01:51 PM   #3
argylesocks
Bears eat beets.
 
argylesocks's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: manch
Posts: 202
only 1.5hrs to install?? wow.
was it really that easy??
argylesocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 01:44 PM   #4
heydin
 
Drives: 2008 toyota yaris RS (mexican)
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Guatemala, Guatemala
Posts: 13
Has anyone found a better price? A similar kit for the Scion Xa/Xb is less than $175 and includes more parts since it is not a drive by wire system. I would be willing to become a distributor if there is enough interest. I'm not looking to make money, just save for all of us.
heydin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 03:38 PM   #5
TC-LIFTBACK
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 27
I dropped Rostra an email regarding a group buy on this baby. Looks like the ebay price has gone down to $230-235 shiped for MT/AT.

Let's hope this works out.

Let's get a group buy on this puppy!

-Ben
TC-LIFTBACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 08:01 PM   #6
OK Yaris
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Frederick, OK
Posts: 51
Time for me to vent. From the Rostra website:

* Toyota dealerships have exclusivity in the following states:
Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Mississippi & Arkansas
Florida, S. Carolina, N. Carolina, Georgia & Alabama
*Toyota dealerships have exclusivity in all provinces of Canada

So those of us in these states must pay dealership prices for cruise control, unless you happen to have a mother-in-law in South Dakota

Mike
OK Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 02:42 PM   #7
SimmZ
 
Drives: 2k3 Cavalier & 2k2 Echo
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Quebec
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by OK Yaris
Time for me to vent. From the Rostra website:

* Toyota dealerships have exclusivity in the following states:
Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Mississippi & Arkansas
Florida, S. Carolina, N. Carolina, Georgia & Alabama
*Toyota dealerships have exclusivity in all provinces of Canada

So those of us in these states must pay dealership prices for cruise control, unless you happen to have a mother-in-law in South Dakota

Mike
WTF? You can always get it over eBay or on a web-store, no matter where you live!?

But as I told above, for a canadian customer, take 250$ USD over eBay, then add pretty expensive shipping, then add customs/GST/taxes/brokerage... it's very very near of the 400$ CDN installed on the dealer (when you negociate a price with them)...
__________________
2003 Chevy Cavalier Ecotec - His car!
2002 Toyota Echo Sedan - Her car... FOR SALE!
SimmZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 05:52 PM   #8
OK Yaris
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Frederick, OK
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimmZ
WTF? You can always get it over eBay or on a web-store, no matter where you live!?

No, you can't. These sellers on e-bay and internet sites have specific instructions not to sell to folks in these states. Some will ship to an alternate address though.
OK Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 09:28 AM   #9
ketel0ne
 
ketel0ne's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback Blazing Blue
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Charles Town, WV
Posts: 104
A distibutor in Minnesota for rostra at 1-877-402-3944 quoted me $212 about 10 minutes ago on the phone.
__________________
ketel0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 02:56 PM   #10
spkrman
Banned
 
Drives: 1
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 2
Posts: 1,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by TC-LIFTBACK View Post
I dropped Rostra an email regarding a group buy on this baby. Looks like the ebay price has gone down to $230-235 shiped for MT/AT.

Let's hope this works out.

Let's get a group buy on this puppy!

-Ben
now, this is something that I would like to get into :)
spkrman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 08:35 PM   #11
yaris-intuit
Aunty Yaris is In!
 
yaris-intuit's Avatar
 
Drives: Blazing Blue, 2 Dr Hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 43
I had the dealership put it in for me and it was $446.60 installed plus GST = $473.40 CAN! It works great. My only beef is the location...you can't see it. Everything has to be done by feel but I'm getting it memorized - had my car 5days now.
yaris-intuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 12:25 PM   #12
Violin
 
Violin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris LB Auto
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,592
Sorry to hear about that. I think I'll put mine off for a bit.
Violin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 03:44 AM   #13
IsLNdbOi
 
IsLNdbOi's Avatar
 
Drives: Polar White - 5 Door '09 LB
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,285
So the problem is only on manual Yaris w/ the Rostra?
IsLNdbOi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 10:49 AM   #14
ketel0ne
 
ketel0ne's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback Blazing Blue
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Charles Town, WV
Posts: 104
Any news on this?
__________________
ketel0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 10:05 AM   #15
pauljk
 
Drives: Yaris LB automatic
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 21
For what it's worth, I've had a Rostra on my auto liftback since the beginning of August, and have had no problem with it. It's been a great addition.
pauljk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 10:23 AM   #16
ketel0ne
 
ketel0ne's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback Blazing Blue
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Charles Town, WV
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by pauljk
For what it's worth, I've had a Rostra on my auto liftback since the beginning of August, and have had no problem with it. It's been a great addition.
Did you install it or did you have it done?
__________________
ketel0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2006, 10:26 PM   #17
AlexK
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Sedan 5MT
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sparks, NV, USA
Posts: 29
Well I have emailed and called Rostra (left a detailed message) with no response from them for two weeks. Their customer service is definitely lacking.
One time my RPMs did stick at 3000 while coasting in neutral without the CC connected. I will reconnect it and try again. At least it's very easy to connect, no splicing required just a connector.
AlexK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 05:56 AM   #18
spkrman
Banned
 
Drives: 1
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 2
Posts: 1,476
if this pans out as just one defective unit here... or car issue... It'll be one of my next mods!
spkrman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise Control Available for 06/07 Yaris TOYOTaejien General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 8 08-27-2010 12:58 PM
Cruise Control chessclubloser DIY / Maintenance / Service 11 03-27-2010 11:59 AM
Liftback - Easiest Way to Get a Tach and Cruise Control... weeze-dog General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 60 10-20-2006 05:40 PM
price for sub/amp install PSU Yaris In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 14 08-09-2006 12:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.