Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Forced Induction Forum
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2012, 09:41 AM   #91
DentGuy
 
Drives: Supra
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Algonquin
Posts: 9
Do a compression check to see if you may have bent a rod.
DentGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 06:05 AM   #92
djgab101
 
djgab101's Avatar
 
Drives: toyota yaris
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: australia
Posts: 247
Hopefully some time soon I can start dismantling and see wat I find!
__________________
djgab101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 07:50 AM   #93
pimp my yaris
C'est la vie
 
pimp my yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 2 door hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chicago
Posts: 482
made more progress yesterday, but I ran out of daylight before I could get her wired up.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0799.jpg (237.6 KB, 230 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0800.jpg (225.3 KB, 231 views)
pimp my yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 07:55 AM   #94
pimp my yaris
C'est la vie
 
pimp my yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 2 door hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chicago
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by djgab101 View Post
Hopefully some time soon I can start dismantling and see wat I find!
Yes if your running a turbo the rods are the weak spot. My rod bent on a cooler day when my car was making great power.
pimp my yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 09:48 AM   #95
Yoda
 
Yoda's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Black Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 966
It's looking good. What turbo do u have you eyes on?
Yoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 09:12 PM   #96
pimp my yaris
C'est la vie
 
pimp my yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 2 door hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chicago
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoda View Post
It's looking good. What turbo do u have you eyes on?
For now Im going to stay with the same turbo. I am going to by some larger injectors and add a return line. Then I am going to buy the Ptuning turbo manafold that locates the turbo above the valve cover and a T3 style turbo with a external wastegate and a dump tube. I will also make a three inch exhaust.
pimp my yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 09:37 PM   #97
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,859
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
beast!
__________________
Micro Image forums, online store and shop are now closed. It was a great eight year run, but it was time to focus on other things. I'm still selling parts on eBay under micro*image seller ID and customers can still make requests for anything specific.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 11:48 PM   #98
Golddeenoh
Takes corners too fast!
 
Golddeenoh's Avatar
 
Drives: Absolute Red 2009 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp my yaris View Post
For now Im going to stay with the same turbo. I am going to by some larger injectors and add a return line. Then I am going to buy the Ptuning turbo manafold that locates the turbo above the valve cover and a T3 style turbo with a external wastegate and a dump tube. I will also make a three inch exhaust.
once you get all the specs worked out send them to Garm so we can persuade him into setting up and creating a kit
Golddeenoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:48 AM   #99
pimp my yaris
C'est la vie
 
pimp my yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 2 door hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chicago
Posts: 482
something like this
Attached Images
File Type: jpg update%20pics%20013.jpg (92.0 KB, 211 views)
pimp my yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 10:47 AM   #100
Golddeenoh
Takes corners too fast!
 
Golddeenoh's Avatar
 
Drives: Absolute Red 2009 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 830
what are you going to do about the cowl on the car to allow the turbo to fit with out melting the plastic?
Golddeenoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 11:35 AM   #101
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,859
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
^ Dremel.
__________________
Micro Image forums, online store and shop are now closed. It was a great eight year run, but it was time to focus on other things. I'm still selling parts on eBay under micro*image seller ID and customers can still make requests for anything specific.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 05:25 PM   #102
Yoda
 
Yoda's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Black Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 966
Wat about rain?
Yoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 05:32 PM   #103
Golddeenoh
Takes corners too fast!
 
Golddeenoh's Avatar
 
Drives: Absolute Red 2009 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 830
if it isn't a daily driver and is kept inside a garage it could just be removed and allow better ventilation of the engine bay add an under panel kit and then air would theoretically go in through the grill over the intake, and over the intake side turbo piping and then exit over the windshield. but leaving that opening will allow a lot of stuff to possibly fall into the engine bay and not having windshield wipers in the rain might be a problem but otherwise it could be an increased functionality of the system :D
Golddeenoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:53 PM   #104
ilikerice
 
ilikerice's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 black yaris
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: savannah, ga
Posts: 2,868
I like this setup alot
__________________
-Derrick-
"Racing is important to men who do it well. When you're racing... It's life. Anything that happens before or after, is just waiting."
ilikerice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 10:42 AM   #105
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,859
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
Is this how blown_xA's turbo is set up?
__________________
Micro Image forums, online store and shop are now closed. It was a great eight year run, but it was time to focus on other things. I'm still selling parts on eBay under micro*image seller ID and customers can still make requests for anything specific.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 06:14 PM   #106
pimp my yaris
C'est la vie
 
pimp my yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 2 door hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chicago
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by cali yaris View Post
Is this how blown_xA's turbo is set up?
Yes this is the same set up as blown XA
pimp my yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 06:23 PM   #107
pimp my yaris
C'est la vie
 
pimp my yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 2 door hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chicago
Posts: 482
I am not able to start my car after reassembly. I am getting spark and fuel but I think the timing may be off I have tried swaping cam and crank sensors already. I have also double checked timing chain. I can see rpm on my scanner when cranking engine. Compression dry is 85-90 psi and 120 with a little oil. I know the rings have not seated yet. I am wondering if the crankshaft tone ring on a older 1nz may be differn't from my newer engine I took out. The part number for the sensor is the same.

If anyone has had similar problem after engine swap let me know? I bought a timing light and will try to check soon while cranking. It will sputter a little but will not start.

Any ideas welcome?
pimp my yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:24 PM   #108
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp my yaris View Post
I am not able to start my car after reassembly. I am getting spark and fuel but I think the timing may be off I have tried swaping cam and crank sensors already. I have also double checked timing chain. I can see rpm on my scanner when cranking engine. Compression dry is 85-90 psi and 120 with a little oil. I know the rings have not seated yet. I am wondering if the crankshaft tone ring on a older 1nz may be differn't from my newer engine I took out. The part number for the sensor is the same.

If anyone has had similar problem after engine swap let me know? I bought a timing light and will try to check soon while cranking. It will sputter a little but will not start.

Any ideas welcome?
Is the harness hooked back up completely, including the ground terminals that bolt to the block as some of those are the only ground for some of the sensors?
__________________
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.