Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2008, 03:58 PM   #1
IGGGY
 
Drives: 07 Hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Radio Display Went Blank

I have an 07 LB. The radio display, with the radio on, went completely blank. A short time later it was on. Anyone had this problem? What was the fix?
IGGGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 04:47 PM   #2
YAR1S
 
YAR1S's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris 3dr LB (Bayou Blue)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,602
Send a message via AIM to YAR1S
did you accidentily turn it off? lol
YAR1S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 04:49 PM   #3
erickwen
Yaris Driver
 
erickwen's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by IGGGY View Post
I have an 07 LB. The radio display, with the radio on, went completely blank. A short time later it was on. Anyone had this problem? What was the fix?
I haven't had that problem but it sounds like an issue with the power supply (the live wire) for the radio unit. Did you bump anything in the road when it turned off/on?
erickwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 06:26 PM   #4
IGGGY
 
Drives: 07 Hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Just No Display

The radio was playing with the display working and when it went blank. So power to the unit is not the issue. I was just wondering if there's any history out there concerning bad displays.
IGGGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:08 PM   #5
erickwen
Yaris Driver
 
erickwen's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by IGGGY View Post
The radio was playing with the display working and when it went blank. So power to the unit is not the issue. I was just wondering if there's any history out there concerning bad displays.
ah! sorry, I misunderstood. No, I haven't had that problem, but maybe it was a glitch of some kind...has it happened more than once?
erickwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:14 PM   #6
kuyachris84
 
kuyachris84's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris Liftback Black
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 321
radio

I've had my radio go blank and completely die on me. Luckily I was under warranty and Toyota replaced it. Doesn't matter now though since I put an aftermarket stereo in there. ^^
__________________
2008 YARIS/VITZ LIFTBACK - BLACK SAND PEARL
Representing The Midwest!
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3132598
kuyachris84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:18 PM   #7
KCALB SIRAY
それを吸ってください
 
KCALB SIRAY's Avatar
 
Drives: black sand lb
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,894
I had that same problem in my old Tercel. I hit the reset button and it was back to normal.
KCALB SIRAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 09:47 PM   #8
Antara
 
Drives: 08 Yaris HB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 12
In the morning if its cold my display shows nothing.
Antara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 02:11 PM   #9
IGGGY
 
Drives: 07 Hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 15
Antara - You may have hit on it. This happened the first cool morning we've had in 9 months. Thanx.
IGGGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 03:37 PM   #10
ROCKLAND TOYOTA
TRIM HUNTER
 
ROCKLAND TOYOTA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BLAZIN BLUE YARIS 3 DR
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ROCKLAND COUNTY NY
Posts: 2,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antara View Post
In the morning if its cold my display shows nothing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IGGGY View Post
Antara - You may have hit on it. This happened the first cool morning we've had in 9 months. Thanx.
sounds like WARRANTY to me.......
__________________
http://rocklandtoyota.com/IFrame.aspx?iFrameID=2388

TOYOTA PARTS AT A DISCOUNT........
ROCKLAND TOYOTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 03:40 PM   #11
MUSKOKA800
 
MUSKOKA800's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 Yaris Sedan, Aero Package
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antara View Post
In the morning if its cold my display shows nothing.

In it's golden years my '95 Talon developed display issues during winter only.
__________________
TRD Upgrades: 18" Wheels wrapped in 215/35/18 PZero's, Sportivo Shocks/Struts, Lowering Springs, Swaybar, Axle-Back Exhaust, Oil Cap, Rad Cap, Signage.

Aftermarket Goodies: Piggies SS, K&N Drop-In, Blitz S/C, DC Header, NST Pulley)

Toyota Options/Accessories: Sport Pedal Covers, Sport Shift Knob, Ipod Interface, Summer Mats, Winter Mats, Cruise Control, Auto-Dim Mirror, Echo steelies with winter boots.
MUSKOKA800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 09:11 PM   #12
BDYaris
 
Drives: 08 HB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 34
This just happened to me a few days ago. Its completely annoying (radio was playing, but the display LED's went blank except for green backlight) . it hasnt happened since but I hope this is not the way of things to come with this car. I just hit 5500 miles and did my first synthetic oil change.
__________________
Sorry, my account and post count got deleted when site was hacked :(
BDYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 02:53 AM   #13
kuyachris84
 
kuyachris84's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris Liftback Black
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by IGGGY View Post
I have an 07 LB. The radio display, with the radio on, went completely blank. A short time later it was on. Anyone had this problem? What was the fix?
I've had this problem. The radio eventually went blank FOREVER and died I guess. Went to toyota and they replaced it. Mine was still under that 30k warranty or something like that. Have an aftermarket radio so not worrying about it now... lol.
__________________
2008 YARIS/VITZ LIFTBACK - BLACK SAND PEARL
Representing The Midwest!
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3132598
kuyachris84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 08:06 PM   #14
jdinrc
 
jdinrc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris Blazing Blue 3dr
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by IGGGY View Post
I have an 07 LB. The radio display, with the radio on, went completely blank. A short time later it was on. Anyone had this problem? What was the fix?
The problem is a cold solder joint or defective flex connection in the power to the display itself, internally. That's the reason that the temperature has an effect on whether or not the display works. There's not much you can do about it unless you have the skills and equipment to crack it open and repair it yourself. I would send it for warranty repair.
jdinrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
radio wire colors & alarm wire color reference guide battleversiontc In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 42 05-29-2014 05:24 PM
ATL, I want to trade my Upgraded built in radio... matthewallanstill Southeast 2 03-28-2009 07:29 PM
Trade upgraded radio and dash for base radio and dash??? Yarisguy13 Items for Sale by private party 4 09-17-2007 07:32 PM
I want to trade my Upgraded built in radio... matthewallanstill Items for Sale by private party 0 09-03-2007 10:50 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.