Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2009, 06:33 AM   #1
steveh74
 
steveh74's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris D-4D
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 6
Help! Horn just stopped working.

Hello all! My horn just stopped working and guess what!? My warranty ended 4 days ago!! Anyway.... I have a European diesel model. Does anyone know the steps for troubleshooting a non-working horn?
steveh74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 07:13 AM   #2
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,744
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo
check the fuse first... no idea if it is in the same location as our engine bays, but the back f your owner's manual should have a list and location of all fuses.
__________________
The price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a good deal of rubbish.
- Robert Jackson


Bye bye 1NZ...
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 07:14 AM   #3
steveh74
 
steveh74's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris D-4D
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by eTiMaGo View Post
check the fuse first... no idea if it is in the same location as our engine bays, but the back f your owner's manual should have a list and location of all fuses.

Awesome... I will start there 1st. Thanks!
steveh74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 02:25 PM   #4
talnlnky
Audio Junky
 
talnlnky's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 liftback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 1,412
Send a message via AIM to talnlnky
if the fuse isn't the problem.... you will most likely want to borrow a multimeter to start checking the circuits.
__________________
talnlnky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 12:43 PM   #5
Shroomster
'07 to '12:2 wipers to 1?
 
Shroomster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 5-door LE & '14 5-door LE
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1,999
actually after checking fuses AND HORN RELAY



I'm an idiot.....i deleted my post....

Last edited by Shroomster; 09-15-2009 at 12:31 AM.
Shroomster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 02:47 PM   #6
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,638
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
^ my horn looks like a small speaker. works fine.
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 12:00 AM   #7
Shroomster
'07 to '12:2 wipers to 1?
 
Shroomster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 5-door LE & '14 5-door LE
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1,999
oi....I thought they had the little trumpet/snail on the face still.


hmmm guess not (just went and looked)

at any rate his might have that (or not) trumpet on it (as its an 2006 maybe)
Shroomster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 09:21 AM   #8
Yaris Hilton
Half a Bubble Off Plumb
 
Yaris Hilton's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 1,593
Smile

I'm pretty sure that if I dug around I could find the old J.C. Whitney "Ocean Liner Blast Horn" I had on a car in the '80s, and parts to put an ear splitting air horn system together. I've gotten fond of my tootly little Japanese horn, though.
Yaris Hilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 01:33 PM   #9
Lafiro
 
Drives: 06 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 694
Send a message via AIM to Lafiro
Oh no, my horn stopped working yesterday!

Driving though the city, I used it once for a second, then pressed it again and nothing happened. Today I try again and nothing. The fuse in the engine bay is intact, so I am completely lost!

Where is the horn in the car located? Maybe its a good thing it went because the stock horn is just girlish... lol

Edit: Just found the PDF file on this exact issue. Ugh, I really dont want to take apart the front bumper again :(

Last edited by Lafiro; 09-14-2009 at 03:07 PM.
Lafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 12:31 AM   #10
Shroomster
'07 to '12:2 wipers to 1?
 
Shroomster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 5-door LE & '14 5-door LE
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shroomster View Post
actually after checking fuses AND HORN RELAY
AHEM check the relay also
Shroomster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 09:45 AM   #11
Lafiro
 
Drives: 06 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 694
Send a message via AIM to Lafiro
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shroomster View Post
AHEM check the relay also
What inside the relay itself should I look for? How do I know if that is damaged or not? Should I just take the car to Toyota?
Lafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 08:13 PM   #12
yarr_is
 
Drives: yaris
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West LA
Posts: 161
It's asking to upgrade to the HELLA Horns ...
yarr_is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 12:27 AM   #13
Shroomster
'07 to '12:2 wipers to 1?
 
Shroomster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 5-door LE & '14 5-door LE
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1,999
switch the horn realy with another relay (swap them in their places and then try the horn again) if it works after swapping then you need a relay.

and then it's to toyota for them to replace it...under warranty
Shroomster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:30 AM   #14
Bob Dog
DARK PHASE OF THE MOON
 
Bob Dog's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 liftback
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: the Boondocks, NC
Posts: 993
let yota do it if its under warranty; gain without pain
Bob Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 11:23 AM   #15
Lafiro
 
Drives: 06 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 694
Send a message via AIM to Lafiro
I tried this before I checked the relay.

They want to charge me $98+tax to inspect it, and if and only if they find the issue, they can then check to see if it is covered under warrenty. So I told the service guy, your telling me that you wont check to see first if this is covered because you want $98 first? No response.

I told him my engine is still making a sqeaking noise when its warm, and in drive, usually coming to a stop. Like going to a drive through. They didnt find the problem last time, no charge then. This time he also told me $98+tax, and only then can they see if its covered under warrenty. Else another $140 if its the belt.

I can not believe this. I told him I never had this bullshit from anyone else here before, and my warrenty was the same now as it was 4k miles ago when I was there. Whats the problem. I just got the same BS about they need money first, then they can check warrenty after they diagnose the problem and pay there tech.

Never again I am buying a toyota. Never again am I trusting anyone into selling me an extended warrenty for somewere around $500-$1000, I forgot, that has YET to do anything for me.

I wonder if I can get a refund of the remaining extended warrenty. Screw them at Penn Toyota.
Lafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
horn

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My car's electrical system just stopped working today..? jamhot18 DIY / Maintenance / Service 14 11-04-2018 01:40 AM
HELP! SRS light won't go off, horn doesn't work kudzu71 DIY / Maintenance / Service 11 08-18-2009 06:12 PM
How to disconnect horn from alarm ??? Yawesh General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 02-19-2009 07:12 PM
Toyota Premium Horn Meteorite_Marty Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 22 02-19-2009 12:28 AM
Horn broken, watch for finger RogueYaris General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 11 06-26-2007 11:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.