Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2010, 02:08 PM   #1
joeljcruz86
Little Eggy
 
joeljcruz86's Avatar
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris Liftback 3DR 2009
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to joeljcruz86
HELP!! Guage cluster not working

okay.. Problem- in the guage cluster the following won't light up: Clock/ Speedomter/ the gas guage and parking,reverse,etc. But everything else lights up like the head lights, fogs, door open, and so on. The needle in the speedomter won't move.

What I tried to do was I just installed my HID's all working fine, except I tried to tap some wires to have the High Beam light in the guage cluster to light up, but as soon as I hit the high beams after "I tapped these wires" those certain lights i mentioned earlier went off. I thought I blown a fuse or something, but I just don't know. Here are some pics of the wires I tapped.

This first picture shows me with the gray wire which i have a screwdriver underneath it.


This second picture shows where I tapped the gray wire from the first picture to this black wire with the screwdriver underneath it.


So if anybody can tell me what i did and/or how to fix it where my lights that are off in the guage cluster can come back on, i would be soo thankful!!
PS- It's a 2009 3DR Hatchback (figured the wiring would be different in other cars)

Last edited by joeljcruz86; 05-14-2010 at 02:41 PM.
joeljcruz86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 02:49 PM   #2
joeljcruz86
Little Eggy
 
joeljcruz86's Avatar
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris Liftback 3DR 2009
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to joeljcruz86
Never mind, i fixed it. I found a blown out fuse in the fuse box undearneath on the driverside. It's a fuse entitled "MET" which is next to the "IGN" fuse. Unfortunately the blown out fuse was 7.5 and I'm limited to supplies i have at home also no money. So i had a spare with a 10 fuse. It worked, but I will replace it with the right one.
joeljcruz86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 03:04 PM   #3
joeljcruz86
Little Eggy
 
joeljcruz86's Avatar
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris Liftback 3DR 2009
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to joeljcruz86
I still have to get my "High beam" light to come on in my guage cluster when I hit the high beams on my HID's. I just installed them..I plugged everything correctly. Works and everything. I disabled my DRL. I saw on a few threads some people reverse the plugs on their harness and wondering if i should to the same, or would it not make a difference?

Can someone help me??
joeljcruz86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 04:45 PM   #4
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
To do it this way, you have to cut the gray wire and cap or tape off the harness side of it. You then tap the black wire and connect it to the cluster connector side of the gray wire.

If you tap the black and connect it to the gray, without disconnecting the gray, you will pop the meter fuse (but, I think you now know that).
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 05:09 PM   #5
joeljcruz86
Little Eggy
 
joeljcruz86's Avatar
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris Liftback 3DR 2009
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to joeljcruz86
I understand now. But before I do that, I noticed that my gray wire is in pin 11 on the D2 connector while the "Pin14" in your previous thread that i looked up, is a Pink wire in mine. So should I snip/cap the pink one, or the gray one??
joeljcruz86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 05:28 PM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeljcruz86 View Post
I understand now. But before I do that, I noticed that my gray wire is in pin 11 on the D2 connector while the "Pin14" in your previous thread that i looked up, is a Pink wire in mine. So should I snip/cap the pink one, or the gray one??
The gray one is correct. Looking at the connector from the wire entry side, pin 1 is top right and pin 9 is bottom right, so gray is in pin 14.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 05:37 PM   #7
joeljcruz86
Little Eggy
 
joeljcruz86's Avatar
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris Liftback 3DR 2009
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to joeljcruz86
hahaha! IT WORKED! I couldn't be any happier. This wasn't a huge issue about the high beam indicator. But I know in the the long run, when i get my car inspected, then I would have a problem. Thank you!!
joeljcruz86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cluster, fuse, guage, hid, lights

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RHD Vitz RS cluster Kioshi DIY / Maintenance / Service 129 03-19-2010 08:52 AM
Guage cluster? DamianShadowPaw General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 3 11-24-2009 12:04 AM
totally awesome guage cluster kustom play Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions 20 11-07-2009 09:48 PM
WTB: Guage cluster from "S" model kac Willing to Buy by private party 3 07-21-2009 12:26 AM
Removing Liftback Guage Cluster Surround Ran Kizama In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 3 05-09-2007 09:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:25 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.