Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Members Area > Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions
  The Tire Rack

Old 11-13-2009, 06:01 PM   #1
why?
Only Happy When it Rains

Drives: Yaris LB
tips for getting a real job

So I'm sick of getting paid crap, I have a decent resume and should be able to find a better paying job, even in this economy. My only problem is that I've never really tried before. I have a college degree. Any comments or advice is much appreciated.
Old 11-13-2009, 08:49 PM   #2
Phaeton

Drives: Blazing Blue Liftback
What do you have a degree in?
You should probably aim for a job related to your degree.
How old are you? How do you dress? Are you self confident?
All of these questions will have a big impact on you getting hired.
I hate to say it, but the biggest thing that keeps people from getting hired for a good job is appearance and attitude.
Phaeton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 09:36 PM   #3
why?
Only Happy When it Rains

My degree is in communications and journalism. Lots of public relations stuff, some pretty good experience in college in that. The only thing I don't really have on that list is confidence. I have some good experience in some other things that should help too.
Old 11-13-2009, 11:14 PM   #4
TinyGiant
Tiny Giant Clothing

Drives: 2008 Blazing Blue Yaris 3D LB
communications is what i called the "cop out" major.. one of those use all everyone goes for it if they dont know what to major in.. i did the ultimate cop out and just didnt go lol

do you have an interest in journalism? you could maybe start writing letters to the editor to the local paper and start a blog and try to get some attention to write for the paper? grab a camera and start taking pics and submit those to the local paper to :) keep you busy when you arent working and could be pretty fun.