Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Old 07-14-2007, 01:40 PM   #1
YoyotaTaris

Drives: 2005 Yaris VVT-i T2
Complete Newbie- In car Stereo help

Ok guys, I just recently turned 18, got my License and a 2005 Toyota Yaris (1000 cc).

Love the car and everything, but I really want to get my stereo sorted out. I have never attempted this before, but I do have a basic understanding.

Ok, so to the questions.

If I want 50 watts out of my speakers, I should go for a 50W x 4 max power output CD tuner, and I wont need any amplifier. Right?

The 50W x 4 max power output Cd Tuner should be able to give 4 speakers 50 watts, is that correct?

Basically I just want a decent CD tuner and a bunch of speakers. But I can get an amplifier if this wont do the Job. I would really appreciate is someone could explain what I need to do, in more detail.

Thank you for reading.
YoyotaTaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 05:34 PM   #2
xed

Drives: '08 Polar White 3dr
Ignore all "max power" information. Pay attention to the "rms" power rating or even better the "continuous" power rating. Peak and max power ratings are often used as a selling point but they are not a reliable way to gauge the quality of sound being output.

Also the quality of the amplified signal is very important. What I mean is that you can buy something crappy that puts out 50w but it won't put out 50 clean watts. There's also little regulation on the claims that manufacturers can make with regard to their products.

As with most things electronic you normally get what you pay for.

I'm sure you'll get lots of good suggestions about specific models from the folks here.
xed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 05:45 PM   #3
YoyotaTaris